Failing and Learning: Finding My Creative Voice

It’s snowing outside and I’m sitting in my room, in front of my laptop, as per usual. I’m doing the online courses at Youtube Creator Academy, learning things about making great videos and running a successful Youtube channel.

In my last month’s post I announced the launch of my channel and I’ve been pouring my heart and soul in each video I release on Mondays.

Besides my comedy skits, Actor’s Life series, where I poke fun on what it’s like being an actor, I introduced the Monologue Series and Tips for International Actors series. The monologues shared in the Monologue Series come from a very personal place as they touch the subjects of the kinds of stories I’d like to be telling. While in the Tips for International Actors series I aim to pay it forward and give back for all I’ve learned.

Each of these series has a different format, which gives me a chance to stretch myself and perhaps find what works for me best. I hope that by offering a diverse, yet always relevant, content to my audience will be fun and useful for them. It matters to me a lot.

I’m still trying to find my creative voice. While I put a lot of thought into what kind of content I want to be creating before making it, I might later find out that some of it doesn’t work for me or that I’m not necessarily good at it. One just never knows without trying it first.

Some videos seem to do well. Others not so much. Though how do I determine that? I don’t know. Number of views or watchtime only tell me as much. Comments or shares or in-person conversations with my viewers (mostly my friends) about my videos? They give some insight, too.

But I guess time will tell. Right now my channel is my little playground. A place for experimenting, failing and growing. It brought back that inner creative fire that I felt like I lost a year ago. And while I’ll admit that despite knowing that this Youtube thing won’t be easy, it turned out to be very challenging. In a good way, though.

Questions for all of you guys who watch my videos:

What would you like to see in the future?
Which current series is your favorite and why?
How do you think I could improve the current series?

Please lemme know either in the comments below or shoot me an e-mail at theitslenka@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

