FOTOBLOG: Travel Stories (Day 7)

And that is a wrap on this travel stories series! Thank you so much for reading it, hope you enjoyed it. 🙂

Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5, Day 6

Descanso Gardens was one of my favorite places in L.A. A quick escape from the city life, perfect place to take kids to for a lunch picnic and let them have fun running around. Also a great place to go read a book or go on a photo mission, just like when I caught this pic. I soon learned I’m a nature lover and can only last so long in a city, even though when I was a teenager, bored out of my mind of my life in a small town, I swore to move to a big city as soon as I can. Who knew I’d look for refuge outside of a city as soon as I moved there?

Speaking of nature, there are places, like the Grand Canyon, that make you feel tiny and insignificant. It was one of those places I had a lot of expectations about, yet it still managed to blow me away. That feeling of walking through the woods and seeing it for the first time is something that will stay with me for a very long time and that perhaps not many places could ever top. Or can they?

One of the fun things about traveling is cultural exchange. This photo represents the Czech custom of mushroom-picking. Every fall, when the mushroom season begins (varies in each region), we put on our sweat pants and rain boots, set the alarm clock really early and head in the woods with baskets and knives. We drag ourselves tirelessly through bushes to pick the edible mushrooms and we learn from an early age which ones to not pick. Like this one in the pic. When I explained this custom to people abroad it was met with questioning gazes, yet it’s one I like to share. After all, each country has its strange customs!

Leave a Reply

