Tips For Internatinal Actors: Favorite Acting Business Books

Today I’d like to talk about my two most favorite books on the business side of acting.

Self-Management for Actors by Bonnie Gillespie

518-fLdzXvL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_This book has changed my life, because before reading it I didn’t know a single thing about showbusiness, because I’m a person from a small town, from a small country, so I didn’t even know what a headshot was.

This book not only teaches you how things work in the showbiz, but it also teaches you how to be in charge of your own career instead of just waiting around for the phone to ring.

The SMFA principles can be applied in any market around the world.Β Another wonderful part of this book is the community of actors you can meet.

READ:Β Why Finding Like-Minded People is So Important for Actors

Auditioning for Film and Television by Nancy Bishop

9781472526366One of the things that this book is teaching you is how to manage a career in various markets, how to self-tape well and submit yourself for work outside of your market.

My favorite parts of this book include stories of actors who lived and worked in various markets and also the chapter on choosing your market – if actors must move to L.A., or, in today’s showbiz, they can be based anywhere.

What I like the most is that there is advice on both the US and European markets, the differences between them and advice from CDs, agents and managers on each side of the pond.

What are your favorite acting business books? Let me know in the comments below! πŸ™‚

I have not been paid nor asked to recommend these books. They are my personal recommendations, because I genuinely like these books and I wanted to share this with you.

Leave a Reply

